Who Gets What Friend?

8 Sep

Relationships are amazing. You become one and you fuse family and friends. His friends become yours. Hers might as well be yours. Everything is great…until you break-up.

The politics of a break up are similar to that of a divorce. Who gets what? Once all the damage is done and collateral is taken, you’re left to ask “who gets that friend?”.

What are your politics when it comes to break ups? Do you keep friends you met through your ex? If you’re the friend on the receiving end, do you break all ties with your friend’s ex? Speak out!

5 Responses to “Who Gets What Friend?”

  1. juan pepe September 8, 2010 at 7:27 PM #

    end of they day they were never your friends!

  2. Meg September 8, 2010 at 7:42 PM #

    Oh girrrrl. This is one topic that gets me hot under the collar. In the past, I’ve retained most of the friends even if they were initially my exes because I’m friendly like that. I wouldn’t say I stayed as close with them as during the relationship but I knew that if I had an issue or concern, I could go to them and they’d be there for me. With my most recent break-up, I was super close with his friends so I figured we’d at least be on professional/friendly terms. Ohhh no. It was like I died. His one best gal friend who I was super close with actually unfriended me on Facebook. How RUDE!

    I feel like if they were initially his friends, there shouldn’t be any contact, at least at first. Let time heal wounds and then in a few months, reach out to one or two that you were close with.

  3. Kelly. September 8, 2010 at 7:52 PM #

    Meg,

    I feel a few ways about this. If they were his friend first and I broke up with him in a BAD way, then I deserve to not be anyone’s friend. But if we had an amicable split, like you said, give it some time and take baby steps. Just say hello and check in every once in a while.

    😦 Relationships suck. lol

    • Paris September 8, 2010 at 8:09 PM #

      Uhhhh… Yeah… That’s a sticky situation. Luckily for me, most of my ex’s friends were his family members, so when I dumped him, I just dumped the whole clan. Most of our mutual friends didn’t really like him that much anyway because he’s a freeloader and a loser. Anyway, yeah, if it becomes a fight over friends, that’s how you know those people were never friends to begin with.

    • juan pepe September 8, 2010 at 8:14 PM #

      kel@ relationships do suck! thats why its better to take it extremely slow… and see who sticks around! lol

Leave a comment