Summer Reading List

12 Jul

Every year, I fool myself into thinking I can accomplish monumental things within eight weeks of vacation. As such, my summer “To Do” list is always a mile long. Perpetually near the top, however, is my summer reading list; a mix of new books, classics and a few old favorites to re-read before bed. Here are a few I plan to tackle:

The Catcher in the Rye by J. D. Salinger: Book Cover

Somehow, I’ve managed to make it to this point in my life without reading The Catcher In The Rye. Madness, I know. I’ve heard great things about this classic and so many of my friends claim it as one of their favorites. So I figured its high time I “check it out” (library joke! …no? Ok.)

Sag Harbor by Colson Whitehead: Book Cover

Who doesn’t love a good coming-of-age novel? Personally, I’ve yet to tire of them. Colson Whitehead’s semi-autobiographical tale of a Black teenager who summers in the Hamptons with his family is, according to Borders, a “deeply affectionate and fiercely funny” portrayal of adolescence and the search for racial & class identity. I really look forward to reading this one…

The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros: Book Cover

The House on Mango Street was on my 6th grade summer reading list (I don’t even want to think about how long ago that was). And its been one of my favorites since then. The story of Esperanza Cordero, a young girl growing up in a Latin neighborhood in Chicago, is beautifully told in a series of vignettes. I highly recommend it and its a fairly short read, perfect for that 2-hour train ride  from NYC to the beach…

These are only three titles from my list, what’s on yours?

Leave a Reply

