Holding on to Exes – No EXcuses!

11 Jun

I am the queen of befriending my ex-boyfriends. For some reason, even if we end on bad terms, I find a way to be amicable. Maybe I am the bigger man and I know how to move on smoothly. Or maybe I was never in love with them in the first place, making it easy to detach myself from the relationship once it’s over.

LOVE (or luv or luh, or whatever you want to use) is a word that is tossed around so often, it loses its meaning – and quickly. But at the time, the situation I was in was love – or what I thought it was at that stage in my life. I think now that I am in a relationship where I am experiencing true love, I can take each ex for who they were and what they contributed to my life and keep them as friends.

How do you feel about this? Can you be friends with exes? How do you feel about your current beau being friends with an ex? I want to know it all!

One Response to “Holding on to Exes – No EXcuses!”

  1. Marissa June 12, 2010 at 3:08 PM #

    I love this article!

    I find myself in the same boat as you when it comes to Exes and you said it right “But at the time, the situation I was in was love – or what I thought it was at that stage in my life. I think now that I am in a relationship where I am experiencing true love, I can take each ex for who they were and what they contributed to my life and keep them as friends.” I think it takes a very mature person to be able to do that.

    My current beau is a Gem and is the type of guy who moves on once it’s over. He’s very direct in opinion and wouldn’t mind telling me if it’s not going to work. So far so good!

Leave a Reply

