Kinky Curly Curling Custard: A product review for the curlie gurlies

28 Apr

There are many products on the market that claim to do the same thing: define your curls while moisturizing your hair but few deliver. The reality is, African American hair is highly textured, so it takes a special kind of product to weigh it down, the right way. We want our hair to look moisturized, but not greasy. We want our hair’s natural curls to POP, but we don’t want to look like we have a jherri curl! Kinky Curly Curling Custard or KCCC promises to come through on all of our desires. Kinky Curly says:

“CURLING CUSTARD TM gives moisture and curl definition, hold and brilliant shiny hair all in one product!

It reduces bulk, defines & elongates your curls helping them to ‘hang’ better. CURLING CUSTARD TM will bring out the natural curl or wave pattern you never knew you had!

It is an advanced botanical formula made with ALL NATURAL ingredients that nourish and strengthen the hair. Utilizing the humectant properties of the Agave Nectar, CURLING CUSTARD TM will give weight to your hair, define your curls, remove frizz, provide long lasting hold and shine without ever being greasy, crunchy or drying to your hair.

This high performance product is very concentrated so a little goes a long way.”

I used the product for the third time this weekend and I got rave reviews. While the first two times I had unfavorable results, I refused to give up on the custard. I found that my technique needed to be tweaked to achieve the clumping affect mentioned in the description. I knew that I must have been doing something wrong, because KCCC has been featured in numerous magazines and raved about on YouTube by Naturals alike for its stellar performance. I usually don’t buy a whole product line, but in the Kinky Curly case, I believe it is best to use the Knot Today Leave-In underneath the custard. It has great slip as a detangler and can be used alone or in conjunction with KCCC. The product line is very natural with botanical ingredients which is always very important to me. In all I can say this:

I didn’t absolutely love it but I didn’t hate it either. My hair was very well defined. It looked thick and for the most part frizz-free. My little ringlets would POP back when I pulled them and I was quite pleased with that. Right after the application my hair was moisturized and had a lot of movement. However, when it dried my hair did get stiff and a tad crunchy. This I did not like.

After you have slept on your hair, the morning after can be very daunting with a head full of crushed curls. However, one can purchase the Spiral Spritz to reactivate the custard. I used a little bit of water, and gave a good shake. Re wetting the KCCC does create a nasty, gunky film on your hair which is not a good look either. Another turnoff.

In addition the product is Recession friendly. The 16 oz jar is priced at $26 and the 8 oz bottle of Knot Today will run you about $12. So your curl extravaganza could end up costing you a fortune. Considering the price, application, ingredients and performance, I would give it a 7.5 out of 10. I just don’t like my hair feeling that hard or slimy. However, I know that for other curly divas, this product gives moisture and movement. Everyone’s hair is different, but would I purchase again? Probably not in the near future. But hey, some people swear by it, so we can’t knock that!

Leave a Reply

