A curl definer must have-Bentonite Clay

2 Apr

bentonite

There are many strange and unique rituals that I do with my hair.  My new obsession: Clay.  Thats right ladies, I said it, Clay! Bentonite Clay to be exact.  My clay of choice comes from the Aztec Secret:Indian Healing Clay which uses 100% natural calcium bentonite clay.  It’s first use being a facial, the clay works wonders on my hair.  When first discovered, it was used as a cleaning agent because the clay has the ability to absorb the ions, fats and oils in a solution.  It’s powerful properties make for an excellent shampoo that conditions, strengthens and defines my 4A-4B hair.  I always have trouble getting my wiry hair to coil, but after a session with my beloved Bclay I have curls galore.  

There are directions on the jar, but I will mix the clay with Apple Cider Vinegar until I get past.  Somewhere in between pancake batter and a thick milkshake (Mmmmm).  I apply it to wet, sectioned, semi-detangled hair.  Usually I twist my hair afterward, so I can detangle anywhere along this process.  I always apply a deep conditioner afterward, because after all Bentonite is a cleaning agent.  

There are many other clays available on the market.  Anita Grant offers a sodium bentonite clay which has other conditioning properties.  There are also clays that can be used as an internal cleanse (food detoxification).  Please read the labels carefully because Aztec Indian Healing Clay is for external use only.

One Response to “A curl definer must have-Bentonite Clay”

  1. Deborah Anderson April 3, 2009 at 5:57 AM #

    I need to find out more about how to take care of my natural hair.

Leave a Reply

