Do You and the rest will follow…

22 Mar

Sitting at dinner with my bf last night, I spilled all of my past to him. Every sad little tidbit. Up until about a month before I met him, I was tangled up in a mess that I was calling a life. There was a point where everything I was doing had to come to an end.

And I made a conscious decision to change.

I told myself and a close friend (hey Mel!) that I was going to change my focus. I needed to do better in school and I wanted to focus more on my career. Hone my skills. But more than anything, there was an inner peace I was trying to find.  A void that needed to be filled that I thought I could find in partying and “relationships”. Once I professed my love for myself and a genuine desire to fix what was broken, things changed.

Not even a month later, I was dating the man that would change my definition of life and love. Now I’m living a very different life – most of friends think I’m boring and a serious homebody (haha). And I agree…but I am the most content I’ve ever been in my life. Out of the clear blue sky came this man that couldn’t be any more perfect for me. At some point, the stars aligned and created this perfect harmony for me. I have a lover, a motivator, a best friend, a rock…

So like I tell many of my girlfriends, DO YOU and everything else will just fall into place. Work on making yourself better and indulging in passions and hobbies. Learn a new language. Pick up a new craft. Do whatever makes you happy, and that Mr. Right will just fall into your lap when you least expect it. 

Besides, you can’t love someone unless you love yourself first…right? 😉

3 Responses to “Do You and the rest will follow…”

  1. believethis March 23, 2009 at 8:12 PM #

    This was written to me wasn’t it? Bad decisions in men is what I do best… this is something I really needed to hear about thanks Kels…..

  2. Kelly. March 23, 2009 at 9:04 PM #

    youre welcome love 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. B. Scott tell ‘em! « Masque Magazine - April 4, 2009

    […] a little of what I was saying in an earlier post, B Scott lifts the […]

Leave a Reply

